The 'Trans-Am series' is an automobile racing series that was created in 1966 by Sports Car Club of America (SCCA) President John Bishop. Originally known as the Trans-American Sedan Championship, the name was changed to the Trans-American Championship for 1967.  The series has in fact gone by a variety of different names through the years (too many to list).   It has evolved over time from its original format as a manufacturers' championship for modified passenger sedans and Coupés to its current form as a drivers' championship open to GT style racecars.

Despite its name, the Trans Am car was not initially used in the Trans Am Series, as its smallest engine exceeded the SCCA's five liter displacement limit.